Close Menu

Scotland’s curriculum – Curriculum for Excellence (CfE) – helps our children and young people at Saint Martha’s gain the knowledge, skills and attributes needed for life in the 21st  century.



Description automatically generatedCurriculum for Excellence places all of Saint Martha’s learners at the heart of education. At its centre are four fundamental capacities. These capacities reflect and recognise the lifelong nature of education and learning. The four capacities are aimed at helping our children



  • Successful learners                                                          
  • Confident individuals
  • Responsible citizens
  • Effective contributors



As part of their learner journey, all children and young people in Saint Martha’s are entitled to experience a coherent curriculum in order that they have opportunities to develop the knowledge, skills and attributes they need to adapt, think critically and flourish in today’s world.


Curriculum is defined as the totality of all that is planned for our learners. That totality can be planned for and experienced by them across four contexts:


  • Curriculum areas and subjects
  • Interdisciplinary learning
  • Ethos and life of the school
  • Opportunities for personal achievement


There are eight curriculum areas:

Expressive arts

Health and wellbeing

Literacy and Language (French is the modern language taught in Saint Martha’s)


Religious Education (“This Is Our Faith” curriculum approved by the Roman Catholic Church)


Social studies



Literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing are recognised as being particularly important – these areas are seen as being the responsibility of all staff.

A picture containing text, sign, person

Description automatically generated


Sub Sections